IT Architecture

Knowledge and ability to apply architecture theories, principles, concepts, practices, methodologies, and frameworks.

Proficiency Level

Level 1 (Follow)

  • Possess basic understanding of architecture principles.
  • Read and understand architecture specifications and models.
  • Distinguish between different architecture domains.

Level 2 (Assist)

  • Create basic models based upon specifications.
  • Define key terms and concepts.

Level 3 (Apply)

  • Focus on a single area of expertise.
  • Produce analytic and candidate design models to be used for further analysis (e.g., telecommunications, networks).
  • Demonstrate awareness of other architectures.
  • Validate models created by projects and/or junior staff.
  • Sign off functional models.

Level 4 (Ensure)

  • Demonstrate good understanding of architecture across the business lines and how they interact but focus on a single architecture.
  • Produce frameworks for a single architecture.
  • Assess new requirements and make design recommendations.
  • Sign off architecture models.
  • Manage transformations.
  • Define metadata models and information models.
  • Monitor standards.

Level 5 (Strategise)

  • Understand how architecture relates to the organisation’s vision, how new business fits in the current business lines, the integration of business and technology, and relate government priorities to target architectures.
  • Build corporate data model.
  • Deliver and sign off frameworks for architectures and integration models.
  • Recommend priorities for business based upon the architecture.
  • Understand and apply standards (e.g., International Organization for Standardization (ISO), Quality standards).
  • Address governance issues.
  • Define metadata models at the enterprise level, information models and the interoperability model.
  • Extend the body of knowledge and contribute to government standards.