Software Testing

Assess and test the overall effectiveness and performance of an application. This involves the setting up of suitable testing conditions, definition of test cases and/or technical criteria.

Proficiency Level

Level 1 (Follow)


Level 2 (Assist)

  • Demonstrate awareness of testing principles and processes.
  • Understand testing terminology.
  • Test and debug software modules.
  • Conduct unit testing.
  • Understand testing methodologies and principles.
  • Understand standards for testing.
  • Execute test scripts.
  • Report test results.
  • Understand and apply IT system security for applications.
  • Use a testing tool

Level 3 (Apply)

  • Understand systems integration principles (i.e., the methods, practices and policies that are used during a systems integration process, including hardware, software, network, and applications).
  • Understand release and certification processes.
  • Prepare test cases/scripts.
  • Carry out complex testing/validation (e.g., volume testing, integration testing).
  • Ensure other applications are not affected.
  • Match results with expectations in the design document.
  • Troubleshoot/resolve issues.
  • Implement test tools.
  • Apply standards for testing.

Level 4 (Ensure)

  • Conduct application testing.
  • Conduct. complex series test scenarios.
  • Prepare test plans and strategies.
  • Research/test testing tools and make recommendations.
  • Develop test practices.
  • Implement and monitor standards for testing.
  • Test standards.
  • Understand the impact of testing on the environment and other tests being carried out.
  • Ensure that the right/appropriate tests are being carried out.
  • Mentor others.
  • Guide application stakeholders in testing methods and tools.

Level 5 (Strategise)

  • Manage integration testing.
  • Set standards for cycle testing.
  • Design testing methodologies.
  • Develop test standards, best practices and policies.